several ways of looking at an egg…

25 Oct

I am probably not the only PCOS patient who read all of the low-GI diet books and started eating eggs for breakfast–and eventually reached the point of thinking, “I will never ever ever eat another egg.”

For me, at least, breakfast eggs (especially just eggs, by themselves, or with a slice of bacon or something) are unappealing. I don’t like to eat a boiled egg, or a scrambled egg, or any other kind of plain egg.

But I have found that they are a helpful and delicious component of other things. And they’re a great way to balance out an otherwise carb-heavy meal.

For breakfast, if I’m going to eat an egg, I slice an onion and cook it; add other vegetables if I have them (diced tomato, broccoli, whatever’s in the fridge); and then toss in an egg. It’s not the main attraction–more like a sauce for the vegetables.

Similarly, I like an egg on top of steamed asparagus; over rice with stir-fried vegetables; or with a homemade roll and sliced fruit or vegetables. For me, the only way to enjoy an egg is to get it off the center of the plate. I am never going to be a person who likes to just sit down and eat an egg, but they are very good with lots of other things (especially vegetables).

I’ve also found that one egg is plenty. Lots of meal plans or recipes suggest two eggs per person, and that’s one egg more than I’m going to enjoy. But that means that you can have a tasty breakfast with lots of vegetables and add a piece of toast or fruit and still stay within a reasonable calorie range, too.

Leave a Reply

