How were you diagnosed?

28 May

I am very curious, readers: how were you diagnosed with PCOS?

My diagnosis came after I had very low milk supply after the birth of my first child. It seems that a lot of women are diagnosed when they have trouble getting pregnant. Informal poll: leave a comment and tell me what led your doctor to diagnose you with PCOS.

One Response to “How were you diagnosed?”

  1. Emelie B. June 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I was initially diagnosed in 2008 when I went in for a routine PAP exam at my college’s health center and told my doctor it had been a couple of months since I menstruated. He then scheduled me for pelvic ultrasound and found many cysts in my ovaries. He said there was a possibility that I had PCOS, but I had to take more tests to confirm. Unfortunately, I didn’t have health insurance at the time and I could not afford to undergo the tests. To regulate my periods, he prescribed me on Ortho Tri Cyclen (Low).

    I got my period, but the pill started to give me some difficulties. I was experiencing painful headaches that happened all the time. I didn’t know why until one day I had pain in my chest and I had difficulty breathing. I went to the ER and it turned out that I had a pulmonary embolism (blood clot) in my lungs. YIKES! Scary stuff. Unfortunately, I’m that small percentage of women that can get blood clots, heart attacks, or even strokes if I take birth control pills.

    To make a long story short, I was prescribed coumadin (blood thinner) to help in my recovery and ensure I would not get anymore blood clots. My parents helped me out with some medical insurance where I was able to take more tests and confirm my diagnosis on PCOS.

    I am very lucky that my PCOS symptoms are mild and I don’t have to take any medication to maintain it. I am doing the natural approach of regular diet and exercise.

    What’s great is that my periods came back!!

    It’s still a struggle of maintaining that healthy lifestyle of eating and exercising, but I know I have to do it for my health and to look good.

Leave a Reply

