PCOS-friendly product: Kirkland Signature turkey burgers

5 Jul

So, as much as I don’t like eating processed foods, there are times when I really just do not have the time and energy to make my own hamburgers. (Well, to be clear: there are times when I keep forgetting to take the meat out of the freezer.) One solution that I’m fairly comfortable with: the Costco turkey burger.

They’re Kirkland Signature brand (which is Costco’s house brand), and they have few ingredients (just turkey, water, salt). They can go on the grill–or into the microwave or oven, for that matter–still frozen, which is the big benefit. They’re not something that you’re going to write home raves about; I’d say, for flavor and texture and juiciness, etc., I’d give them about a 6 out of 10. But let’s face it–when I’m cooking a frozen turkey burger, I’m really looking for convenience and speed, not gourmet, and if it’s decent, I’ll take it.

These are a pretty good center-of-the-plate option. Each one has 200 calories, which is a bit steep considering that it’s very boring by itself (I had one yesterday with bread, cucumber slices, and a dab of blue cheese dressing–which is not a low-cal sandwich!). On the other hand, though, they’re high in protein, low-carb, and filling. I think they make a good lunch. Sometimes I microwave one (which leaves you with a juicier, but not as tasty, final product), sprinkle it with a bit of shredded cheese, and serve with salsa and black beans over the top.

Anyway, the verdict on this product is that it’s one of the few processed foods that really fits into a PCOS-friendly diet, in my opinion; no preservatives, MSG, etc. I’m willing to accept the fact that it’s not going to be the best sandwich of my life (or maybe even the best sandwich of my week) when I’m in a major hurry.

I’d say these get 7 or 8 stars out of 10–for convenience and relative healthfulness.

Leave a Reply

